Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

15 Dec

Often the band that is famous for just one song is worth listening to for whole albums at a time, and this is definitely one of those cases.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros is a glorious resurrection of The Beatles circa White Album, but with twelve-odd instrumentalists, female vocalists frequently chiming in and what sounds like a gospel choir hanging around at Alex Ebert’s elbow.

If I was one to believe particular sounds belong frozen in certain periods of time, I might call this album an anachronism from the 60s that Doctor Who accidentally abandoned in the 21st Century – but I’m not.

I immediately loved this album because I feel that its combination of contemporary lyrical content and astute musical homage to the Hippie movement serves as a reminder that although the global political sphere has changed over the last fifty years, human society at large still lacks the superstructure to provide its fundamental needs of love and peace.

My favorite tracks off this album so far are “Let’s get High”, a song about getting high on love bearing a strong resemblance to songs like “Give Peace a Chance” and All You Need is Love”; and “They Were Wrong”, a mournful, Leonard Cohen-style critique of dog-eat-dog ideology.

3 Responses to “Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros”

  1. Seekinghope 30 December 2013 at 2:19 PM #

    I don’t know how I stumbled upon this blog, probably because I was going through my own and decided to read up on one of my favourites – Edward sharpe and the magnetic zeroes. My point being that it is refreshing to finally find a fellow person who indeed appreciates this music as much as I do.

  2. Seekinghope 30 December 2013 at 2:21 PM #

    I must say, after countless moments of reading up about this band, its a relief and a little refreshing to see someone else appreciate them too.

    • Michelle Avenant 5 January 2014 at 6:17 PM #

      Wow, is it really that hard to find someone else who loves them? Glad my post made you happy though 🙂

Leave a Reply

