Hello, happy January!

24 Jan

(Yes, I know it’s nearly the end of January. Shhh.)

This blog has been quite dormant ever since my lovely, clean little dot-com domain name was sucked into a dusky abyss somewhere on the internet, and it seemed a bit pointless writing posts that nobody was going to find.

The address of this blog is now michelleavenant.wordpress.com (just in case you clicked the facebook link, but have no idea how to trace the home address from your browser tab because you are my mum, or a BA student) [I should really stop thinking it’s okay for me to make fun of BA students AND BSc students AT THE SAME TIME. Somewhere along the line I’m going to run into trouble…] {You know what? I think making fun of students in general is my way of using humour to deal with the fact that none of us are likely to find jobs…}

(…besides the Med students).

One day soon (read: “when I have the money…”) I am going to storm onto the internet, reclaim my domain name and render this post completely pointless.

(That’s michelleavenant.wordpress.com, just in case you forgot to add it to your Google Reader the first t–) [forget it. You’d  only have Google Reader if you were an Engineering student, in which case you would’ve added it the first time…]

8 Responses to “Hello, happy January!”

  1. Henry 24 January 2012 at 11:34 PM #

    But why make fun of BSc students? Unless being employed is funny!

    • Michelle Avenant 25 January 2012 at 9:56 AM #

      The sheer syntax (or mockery thereof) in the above comment is proof enough of my point.

      • Henry 25 January 2012 at 12:14 PM #

        Just about every good book I’ve ever read has included sentences which start with conjunctions (I’m assuming that that’s what’s got your tits in a knot.) So if Oscar Wilde can do it, I can certainly do it, especially considering the context.
        BUT (kill me right now, please) at least there is one profession in which being anal about conjunctions will earn you anything. AND (omfgzz) most high schools require their teachers to have natural hair colours.

      • Michelle Avenant 25 January 2012 at 12:31 PM #

        Heck, man, I was just teasing you!

        The point I was trying to make is that a lot of SciFac students (along with some of the lectuerers!) are well below average when it comes to constructing coherent paragraphs and sentences.

        Of course I know that perfect syntax isn’t always the answer, have you read my blog? 😛

  2. Henry 25 January 2012 at 5:28 PM #

    Some of it 🙂 You seem to apologize for every sentence starting with a conjunction. XD
    Most of the scifac lecturers have a pretty tight choke-hold of the English language. Except two of the stats lecturers. They were Xhosa and Afrikaans, and many lulz ensued. But mostly because the Afrikaans one was an alcoholic who made too many sexist remarks.

    • Michelle Avenant 31 January 2012 at 6:28 PM #

      I apologize for non-standard English jokingly, really, because I’m both a Journ and an English student so of course the fallacy of non-standard English prominently colours my academic landscape 😛

      Where the SciFac is concerned, I only did Earth Science 101 and Geography 102, so you know what? I’m actually not authorized to make sweeping statements about it. I do have a bit of a sore spot, though, about the fact that people like Prof Marsh have lots of fun dropping comments about humanities students, but I did quite well in his course, whereas judging by the notes he gave us, he would’ve been the dunce of both my English 1 tuts.

      I just get annoyed by how many non-humanities students tune us that we’re “not doing ‘real’ degrees” (this is more of a UCT student thing, tho, as I’ve experienced it) when there’s no way a lot of them could write the essays we throw around.

      I think what we all need to settle on (and I realise I’m being hypocritical in saying this) is that the faculties need to have respect for one another.

  3. Thomas James Mathew 25 January 2012 at 10:35 PM #

    This made me chuckle.

    O hai, Henry.

    • Henry 26 January 2012 at 2:29 PM #

      That is so great Thomas! So great!

Leave a Reply

