Every day this December…

30 Nov

I feel like I’m stating the obvious when I say that 2011 has been an amazing year for new album releases.

Phenomenal bands and musicians that have released new albums this year include Beirut, Bon Iver, Cold War Kids and Radiohead. Even croaky old Tom Waits – whose dark humour and vitreal make him seem like he’s been here since the world was just a bunch of crumbly land masses floating in brine – has brought forth some new material.

Now that university has stopped snapping at my ankles for the year and I finally have some time on my hands, I’ve decided to review a different new album every day this December (Waits knows, there are enough of them).

Some of the bands I’ll be writing about will previously have been just names to me and others already have their discographies imprinted on the inside walls of my skull: mostly, I’ve filled up the blank spaces in my list of 31 days with bands I’ve heard indie kids prattling on about or read about in Questionable Content .

If anyone reading this has any recommendations for the aforementioned blank spaces, please let me know (ooh look, a comments section!).

Enjoy your Decembers ❤

8 Responses to “Every day this December…”

  1. Thomas James Mathew 1 December 2011 at 12:33 AM #

    – Red Hot Chili Peppers
    – Evanescence (too mainstream? too heavy?)
    – Deathcab for Cutie
    – Foo Fighters
    – Seether (I think?)
    – Pink Floyd (re-released re-masters of all their classics)
    – Guy Buttery (I’ll lend you the LP, it’s absurdly beautiful)
    … and I’m sure there were more…

    • Michelle Avenant 2 December 2011 at 11:27 PM #

      Michelle’s responses to…

      – Red Hot Chili Peppers: Oh yes. it’s going to be an interesting review though, like “yeah, so I haven’t really listened to RHCP before… but I am now…”
      – Evanescence: Sis man! Keep that language away from my blog! You be trollin’!
      – Deatcab for cu–DUH.
      – Foo Fighters: ummety umm. eh. um. okay. Will give them a(nother) go.
      – Seether: Really?! *gets excited*
      – Pink Floyd: I’m kinda sticking to new material here… but thanks for the heads-up… *tries to figure out how classic Pink Floyd actually had any space to improve*
      – Guy Buttery: yes. And my etch-a-sketch? 😛

  2. Henry 4 December 2011 at 1:16 PM #

    Death Cab For Cutie consists of four separate words. 🙂

    • Michelle Avenant 4 December 2011 at 11:29 PM #

      Argh, yes I know it does! I tend to compress it into three words without thinking sometimes, though, I’m sorry if it annoyed you! (It would probably annoy me…)

  3. Henry 5 December 2011 at 12:58 PM #

    I think you should review DeadmouFIVE.

    • Michelle Avenant 7 December 2011 at 11:36 PM #

      By the looks of it, Deadmau5’s last album was released in 2010 (if Wikipedia have their facts right), and I’m only doing 2011 albums for the moment… but I do need to look into Deadmau5 at some point, so shot for the suggestion!

      • Henry 8 December 2011 at 12:59 PM #

        Oh ell oh ell I was kidding about them, they are Satan’s work. Gross.

      • Michelle Avenant 9 December 2011 at 11:41 AM #

        Haha! Either way I need to check them out, even if it’s to establish a rant about why I dislike them 😛

Leave a Reply

