This is how it works

24 Sep

I could spend weeks on a single Regina Spektor song, just turning the lyrics over and over in my head.

A particular gem of hers, both lyrically and for its simple, happy-sad catchyness is On the Radio – I think I could unravel it a line a week and still have a lot to think about.

My friend Catty and I have been planning to jam some Spektor when we both have enough free time, and I decided to get a bit of a head start yesterday afternoon. I had a lot of fun playing with dynamics and picking styles, and was astounded to realize that the song has a simple four-chord structure running all the way through it.

 

This is my favourite thing musicians do: make something intricate and layered of something that can be reduced to a simple, simple skeleton.

Jouir de. ❤

Leave a Reply

